California Eliminates Statute of Limitations On Rape and Sexual Assault

On September 28, 2016, on the heels of amending other sexual assault legislation on the books in California, the Golden State now allows rape and other sexual assault allegations to be brought at anytime during the life of the defendant.  The new law kicks in on Jan. 1, 2017 but applies retroactively if the statute of limitations has not yet run on.  Previously there was a 10-year statute of limitations in…

Read More

Men Will Face Minimum of 3-8 Years in Prison for Sex With A Drunk Woman

update: this law his now been signed into effect; min 3 years prison sentence for attempted rape and other “sexual assault” laws Following the politicized uproar over the so-called lenient sentence that Brock Turner received in his sexual assault case, the California legislature has passed yet another “rape” law by 66-0. Under the new law, a defendant would face a minimum of 3-years in prison if he has sex, oral,…

Read More